Texas A&M University
Prairie View University
Texas State University

Department of Mathematics
National Science Foundation
















Faculty News

Bangerth chosen for Wilkinson Prize for achievements in numerical software

Wolfgang Bangerth, IGERT faculty member and faculty of the Department of Mathematics, Texas A&M University, was awarded Wilkinson Prize byArgonne National Laboratory, the National Physical Laboratory, and the Numerical Algorithms Group.

The 2007 Wilkinson Prize as awarded to Wolfgang Bangerth and Guido Kanschat of Texas A&M University, and Ralf Hartmann of DLR Germany for the software package deal.II, a Finite Element Differential Equations Analysis Library. deal.II is a C++ program library targeted at adaptive finite elements and error estimation. It uses state-of-the-art programming techniques of the C++ programming language to offer you a modern interface to the complex data structures and algorithms required for adaptivity and enables you to use a variety of finite elements in one, two, and three space dimensions, as well as time-dependent problems.

Dr. Wolfgang Bangerth
Department of Mathematics


Benzerga receives NSF CAREER Award

Amine Benzerga, an IGERT collaborator, and assistant professor in Texas A&M University's Department of Aerospace Engineering, and member of the faculty of Materials Science and Engineering, has received a 2008 National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER award for his research into plasticity and fracture in metals. The $402,320 grant will continue through 2013.

NSF awards the prestigious CAREER grants to outstanding junior faculty members to help them advance their research and teaching activities. Benzerga's research deals with the development of models and computational methods that will guide the design of advanced high-temperature materials with unprecedented properties of strength and toughness, and accelerate their insertion.

Benzerga's research will also impact the design of creep-resistant micro-devices, such as movable bridges of RF-MEMS switches, or micro-machines such as micro-engines.


Dr. Amine Benzerga
Department of Aerospace Engineering